• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

SUPERsets

Wizzle

Bluelighter
I love doing supersets, at this point three of five strength workouts I do consist of supersets. Namely: Chest, Back and Arms. The workouts I do are all from www.scoobysworkshop.com (check em out they are intense)

Chest
Back
Arm

More info: http://exercise.about.com/cs/weightlifting/a/supersets.htm

I would like to hear some opinions on supersets: Any other fans? Are they a good way of working out? Is it better than regular sets?

I've been doing these superset routines for six months already.. I know I have to vary my training but I just love it too much! I do make small changes from weights to cables and such.

Also, I'd like to hear some opinions on rest, how long is best? Does it vary a lot from person to person? Etc.

On my normal workout's rest time varies. For shoulders I do all my sets with a drop set right behind it (example: shoulder press 12 kg until failure and then 6 kg until failure) when doing this regimen I'll take 1,5 minutes rest till the next set.

If anyone has some good superset routines please post, for me it really makes a workout more interesting. Does anyone know of a good routine for shoulders or legs? Please post!

Supersets are awesome, I use them fairly often.

I think the advantage of them is twofold, first off, they are actually keeping you out of breath, and making you tired. I see a lot of guys doing a set of 8-12, then resting a minute. This is fine, but it lacks the almost cardio element that you get froma good superset.

The second advantage of them is that they generally work you in a rotor. For example, I do a superset that works Biceps, Triceps and shoulders. The whole set takes about 2-3 mins, then I rest for say a minute, then go again. However for my biceps, the first muscle in the set, they have had a good 3 minute rest, but those 3 minutes werent sat still, waisting time.